Cefn Coed Colliery MuseumCefn Coed Colliery Museum

Located near the village of Crynant in the Dulais Valley five miles north of Neath, the museum tells the story of coal mining at the Cefn Coed Colliery, once the deepest anthracite coal mine in the world. Cefn Coed was one of the most dangerous coalmines in Wales where many men lost their lives in dangerous working conditions gaining the colliery the nickname of ‘The Slaughterhouse’.

The story of the thousands of men who worked at Cefn Coed and at other pits in the anthracite coalmines of South West Wales is told through words, pictures and artefacts throughout the museum. The underground gallery, a simulated working seam, brings these harrowing conditions to life.

The museum is home to a preserved 1927 Worsley Mesnes Horizontal Duplex Cylinder Steam Winding engine, arguably the jewel in the museum’s crown. Once powered by steam when the site was a working colliery this magnificent winder is now turned over by electricity, however its majesty never fails to impress enthusiasts the world over.

Guided Tours

Visitors can receive a guided tour led by one of our dedicated volunteers by arrangement or if you prefer there are hand held audio tours of the site, recorded by a retired miner from the Cefn Coed Colliery available from reception.

Neath Gas Tram

The museum is also the proud home of the last surviving gas tram from the town and one of the only restored examples in the world! The Neath gas tram ran from 1875 until 1920, a victim of modernisation it was abandoned in favour of motor buses and the old tram cars were sold off. This fine example was recovered from a local garden in the 1980s where it was being used as a garden shed! Visit the museum to discover its fascinating story and sit up on the top deck!

Neath Historical Model Railway Club

Cefn Coed museum is also host to the Neath Historical Model Railway Club. The club’s dedication and commitment is evident from the constantly evolving layout celebrating the age of steam in the Dulais Valley.

Opening times

Cefn Coed Colliery Museum is open daily from May to September.

10:30 – 5 (Last admission at 4:30) Admission is free

The museum currently closed for the winter period, but group visits are welcome with prior arrangement with the museum.

For further details please ring (01639) 750556 or email: colliery@npt.gov.uk

Cefn Coed Colliery Museum, Neath Road, Creunant, SA10 8SN 

Getting here:- Bus X58/158 runs hourly from Swansea and Neath daily

By car: At Junction 43, Exit M4 east bound. Take the A465 signposted Aberdulais / Resolven / Brecon. Come off on slip road signposted (A4109) Aberdulais Falls, Cefn Coed Colliery Museum. The museum is approximately 3 miles along the Neath Road.

The Neath Gas Tram Cefn Coed Colliery Museum 1930s The Underground Gallery The Winding Engine at Cefn Coed Colliery Museum

Page Details

Last Updated: 20.02.2015 at 15:10

  • Share this:
  • Email to a friend

Rate this Page

Rating form

Please Rate this page:* 

*  

 

 


CAPTCHA Image

 
Footer Links DirectGov Preparing for Emergencies Valid CSS Valid Level A W3C-WAI Accessibility SOCITM Better Connected Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict