Skip Navigation

Your feedback will help us improve this website.

Renewal Area

Renewal Areas

Renewal Areas were a Welsh Government funded initiative aimed at co-ordinating funding services in a defined geographical area where there was recognised housing, social and environmental problems.

Neath Port Talbot Council declared a total of three Renewal Areas over a period of 13 years.

  • Sandfields East and Aberavon Renewal Area 2004 – 2017
  • Upper Amman Valley Renewal Area 2007 – 2012
  • Neath East Renewal Area 2009 - 2017

Renewal Areas were established to effect the comprehensive revitalisation of an area, bringing about improvements to homes, shops, other commercial premises, the local environment and the infrastructure by working in partnership with the private sector, other public bodies and most importantly, the local community to develop co-ordinated strategies to tackle the problems identified by the people who live and work in these areas.

Renewal Areas have proved to be extremely successful in Wales in tackling problems of deprivation that exist in certain areas, by creating confident and sustainable communities.

Station Terrace - before renovation
Station Terrace - before renovation
Station Terrace - After Renovation
Station Terrace - after renovation