National Trust Aberdulais Falls
The industrial heritage of this area goes back to 1584, when copper was first manufactured. Iron smelting and corn milling followed, with a tin plate works being built around 1830. As well as powering industries for over 400 years, this magnificent waterfall inspired artist J M W Turner in 1795. Today, the site houses Europe’s largest electricity-generating water wheel.
Aberdulais Falls is owned and cared for by the National Trust and features the following:
- unique fish pass
- visitor interactive display
- educational facilities
- National Trust gift shop
- facilities for disabled visitors
- free guided tours during the summer months
Location: On the A4109, 2 miles north east of Neath at Aberdulais.
Bus: 158 (First Cymru) from Swansea/Neath. Also accessible via a pleasant walk or cycle ride form Neath (join footpath at B&Q) along the Neath Canal to Aberdulais Basin and Falls (approx. 2 miles).
Accessibility: Accessible to less abled visitors. Special lift provided; access through the turbine house and new scissor lift provides views above the waterfall.
- Tel: The National Trust, Aberdulais Falls 01639 636674
- National Trust Website